Where was I?


Yes, I am alive, kicking and good. That would serve as the universal answer to all the tweets, DM’s, emails, texts, pings et al I received during the last fifteen days. I am sure they were all in good humour. So here goes for all of you who sincerely missed my absence on the World Wide Web!

The fortnight was hectic to say the least. Tied by extensive family ties, I was rigorously playing my role to tighten some bonds and loosen some knots. It was painstaking and slow, yet rewarding. Train rides across the Deccan, impromptu trips across the arid Tamil territory and finally riding along the Konkan coast.

To sum it up in brief I saw a child being christened to an old relative succumb to colon cancer. I was comforted at one end to at another I was consoling and mending broken hearts. I was being the good friend one day and the next day I was being the person who had to carry out an old will.

Dismal moments existed when I  questioned my own existence, yet I am proud and happy that I finally fulfilled my grandfathers legacy. One note advice is that meddling in family issues is a pain and sometimes can give you a bad bedsore. Yet if it is your responsibility, carry it out you must. You will see the thorns eventually turn into tiaras.

And thus after going through the ordeal I witnessed how sometimes fates were twisted, life was warped, hopes were blighted . But, somehow It felt like I had the power to change a few things and I did it.

The whole escapade involved a minor accident and getting caught in a flash flood, bogging me down with viral pneumonia leaving me croaking and wheezing. Yet I am back again here ,voicing my thoughts. The one thing that I want to remember is that:”sometimes it is the darkness from broken lights that would show the way!”

Note: I know I have been extremely brief, carefully cutting out details. However it was intentional. I have been advised to keep family matters always wrapped.

Leave a comment